intouchables_indeWe returned to the train station wanting to get out of Patna as soon as possible.

After a while I realized that I had lost my watch, a cheap digital one. Without much else to do but wait, I went to ask at the counter where hours before we bought the tickets.

“This one?” said the officer while holding up my watch.

“Incredible!” I replied in amazement. “Yes, thank you very much!”

If there is one place in the world where one does not expect to recover his watch that is a train station in India… much less in Patna!

I went back to where my friend was waiting, but when I was about to tell him that good things can also happen in such a city I realized something was bothering him.

“What’s up?” I asked.

“See that old beggar sitting there?” I nodded. “A guy just kick him in the head.”

I noticed the blood flowing down his temple.

“But why?”

“Must be an outcast, an untouchable. Here his life is worthless. Surely they had eye contact.”

The loss of my watch couldn’t be more providential, because if anything alters me that’s cruelty, especially when the victims are the most vulnerable:  animals, children, the elderly, women, nature…

Deep inside I also feel sorry for the perpetrators. I can’t imagine the unhappiness of someone capable of giving a kick in the head to an old homeless person. Blood, though invisible, also runs down his temples.

